E*TRADE futures costs
As of 2026-10-13 - verify on the broker's site before opening an account.
At a glance
Costs per contract
| Product | Commission per side | Exchange fees | All-in round trip |
|---|---|---|---|
| MNQ | $1.50 | Charged on top | Not confirmed |
| MES | $1.50 | Charged on top | Not confirmed |
| MGC | $1.50 | Charged on top | Not confirmed |
| MCL | $1.50 | Charged on top | Not confirmed |
| NQ | $1.50 | Charged on top | Not confirmed |
| ES | $1.50 | Charged on top | Not confirmed |
Flat $1.50 per contract per side.
Not confirmed from an official source: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Margins
| Product | Day-trade margin | Overnight margin | CME initial margin | CME maintenance margin |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MNQ | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $4,762 | $4,762 |
| MES | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $2,881 | $2,881 |
| MGC | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $2,083 | $2,083 |
| MCL | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $948 | $948 |
| NQ | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $46,623 | $46,623 |
| ES | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $28,813 | $28,813 |
Day-trade margin is what this broker shows for positions closed the same day. CME columns are the exchange's own margins as of 2026-10-13, shown for reference.
Platform & fees
| Platform fee | Free - No platform fee or account/trade minimum on the cited active-trading page. |
|---|---|
| Platforms | Power E*TRADE Web, Power E*TRADE Mobile |
| Market data fees | Level I data has no fee; fees may apply for Level II. |
| Inactivity fee | $0.00 |
| Withdrawal fees | Not stated on the cited futures pricing pages. |
| Account minimum | $0 |
- Exchange and NFA fees are additional.
- E*TRADE applies 50% of exchange initial margin for intraday futures positions except crypto, but current dollar amounts by contract are not published on the cited pricing page.
Watch out for
- Exchange and NFA fees are additional — the $1.50 per contract per side commission does not include them.
- Level II market data may carry a fee; only Level I is stated as free.
- E*TRADE uses 50% of exchange initial margin for intraday (day-trade) positions, but current dollar amounts by contract are not published on the cited pricing page.
- Withdrawal fees are not stated on the cited futures pricing pages.
Sources
- E*TRADE pricing and rates - checked 2026-10-13
https://us.etrade.com/what-we-offer/pricing-and-rates - E*TRADE active trading - checked 2026-10-13
https://us.etrade.com/trade/active-trading
As of 2026-10-13 - verify on the broker's site before opening an account.